Progress and Future Progression

Since my last post I am officially down another 14 lbs. CrossFit and Paleo have been my means of this effort so far. I still have a long way to go – but very pleased with my progress at this point.

Where will the future take me? How will I get there? Part of progression is preparation.  This coming Saturday, I will be attending a nutritional seminar at my gym – CrossFit Lake Mary. Jeremy Mullins will be presenting.

From the Crossfit Lake Mary Site:

Jeremy is a registered dietitian with the State of WV. He has worked with Kings Daughters and Medabolix in the area of Weight Loss surgery recovery, and cardiac rehab. He has a bachelors degree from Marshall University in Dietetics and also a Masters Degree from Marshall in Clinical Dietetics. He is currently working on his PHD in Biomedical Science. Jeremy is part owner of both Firebreather Fitness in St. Albans and CrossFi…t Thunder. Jeremy is also part of the New CrossFit Head Quarters nutrition staff! He will be traveling the globe teaching CrossFitters about diet and nutrition.

CrossFit Certifications

CrossFit Level 1 – August 08′
CrossFit Football – May 09′
CrossFit Running – June 09′
CrossFit Kids -Nov 09′
CrossFit Barbell – Dec 09′
CrossFit Powerlifting – April 10′
CrossFit Gymnastics – Sept 10′
CrossFit Nutrition – Jan 10′
CrossFit Coaches Prep Course – May 10′

The lecture will include but not be limited to:

Discuss important of diet (input) related to results (output) such as blood markers, body-fat, performance.
Discuss Paleo Diet and concepts
Discuss Zone Diet and concepts
Learn how to manage diet to increase performance, manage disease states such as DM, HTN, hyperlipidemia, decrease bodyfat (weight loss via documentation of input).
Discuss Lab work: Insulin, Lipid profile, Vit D, and Hgb A1c
Supplements
Post-WOD and pre-WOD meals
Q & A to finish lecture

I’m very much looking forward to tweaking my Paleo diet and really seeing some awesome results. I have about 60 more lbs to lose. My Endocrinologist would like to see most of that gone before my next visit to him in early February 2012.

Additional preparation

  • creating a “personal cook book” for the 40 day paleo challenge that will begin on October 3rd – 1 week after the nutrition seminar.
  • making my own mayo & ketchup – paleo approved
  • cooking ahead
  • bargain shopping for paleo ingredients
  • considering buying a cow

I hope to yet again detail the next “PALEO CHALLENGE” with recipes and advice.  I wish oodles of luck to those participating 🙂 Hope Scott and I can truly “kill it” this time!

Leave a Reply

