Birthday came and went – half way done or new beginning?

So I’m officially 35. What does that mean? Well based on life expectancy of the women in my family it means I’m half way done.

I’ve been on a emo roller coaster of epic proportions the past 3 weeks. The last week of March I started noticing things were bothering me more. My emotions were constantly on my sleeve. I knew it was because I had fallen off my diet/exercise wagon and my PCOS symptoms were NOT under control. Did I do anything? Nope! Let the spiral continue… depression sank in. Not a fun time!

How am I now? Somewhat better – I must be finally close to a cycle with my PCOS so I can start it all over or choose to make better decisions to get my symptoms under control. Oh! PCOS – Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome – a metabolic disorder that messes with the hormones and so much more! (men can get this too believe it or not)

Somehow my husband managed not to kill me during this most recent stint of insanity. I honestly do not know what I did to deserve him; but I’m so thankful. On what seemed to be the worst day of my emo symptoms … I went to a book store on my lunch break from work. I found  a book called “The Ultimate PCOS Handbook”. Wow – have I ever identified with this.

I was diagnosed with PCOS about a year ago; only after being explained what it was… realized I’ve had this my whole life! So many birthday coming and going and no idea what was going on. The more I learned the more I realized that many female members in my family suffer/suffered from the same thing! Could this mean life expectancy could be improved if I can get a handle on this?

There’s only one way to find out. I’m going to get through this book and find out what the fabulous authors suggest and incorporate as much as I can in my busy life. Exercise, support and proper diet is important. I can’t wait to get through this and hopefully find a way to live longer and not feel half way done!

Leave a Reply

